top of page

Meet Elisa Flores

Graduate Counseling Intern under Supervision 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Hello! My name is Elisa Flores. I am a Puerto Rican woman who grew up in the Bronx, a borough of New York City with a single mother. Growing up, I spent a lot of time with my grandparents who helped my mother due to her long work hours. My grandparents did not speak much English and taught me how to speak Spanish at a young age. My family was small, but also very close. Whenever I had doubts, my mom was always in my corner cheering me on and offering a gentle nudge when it was needed.

I am and have always been a firm believer in forgiveness and was fortunate enough to be able to reconnect with my father when I got older. Despite the many years apart we were able to forge a relationship where there was none before with no resentment or ill feelings. Our parents are the most important parts of our lives. I now cannot see myself without my dad’s family in my life. With the support of my family, I have been able to turn my dreams into reality. I am the first in my family to obtain higher education. I have a Bachelor's Degree from New Jersey City University. I am currently a student at the University of Phoenix, obtaining my Masters Degree in Clinical Mental Health, and will be graduating in 2022.  

I love to travel. My best friend and companion is a 4 year old German Shepherd named Rocky. When not playing with Rocky, I work as a Human Resources Manager for a Hospital in New Jersey. Since I was 17, I wanted to study psychology and wanted to work closer with people and make a difference in their life. For these reasons, I am training to be a mental health counselor at Charlandra Counseling Services under Dr. Anna’s clinical supervision.  I look forward to being able to support you on meeting your goals and reaching your full potential. 

bottom of page